Task 3: Evaluation

Narrative Structure

My graphic narrative features a linear, anti-realist narrative.

The narrative follows a purple dragon and the beginning of his day. The components features denote the opening, motivation and a climax.

The narrative opens with Dragon waking up and opening his curtains to reveal a sunny day. This sets the scene for the reader.

Excitedly, Dragon searches under his bed and reveals to the reader his kite that he finds. This features his motivation to find something to do with this sunny day, and the frame in which he is under his bed creates suspense and anticipation from the audience, as they will be intrigued by his action. When Dragon reveals his kite, this deflates the suspense and allows the reader a sense of equilibrium.

Dragon then sits upset on his floor as he realises it’s started to rain and can no longer go outside with his kite. This disrupts the equilibrium and creates a climax, urging the reader to continue on to find the resolution.

Image Construction

After experimenting with Photoshop and watercolours, I decided to use a rustic and hand-drawn approach to illustrating my narrative. I found this aesthetically pleasing and would also allow the young reader to relate to the imagery, as it is something they could create themselves.

In my Photoshop experimentation I also played with textures and this inspired me to use a range of drawing techniques to add life to my drawings.

dragon FINISHES PHOTOSHOP

Historical and Cultural Context

For the ease of evaluation, I have referred to the protagonist of my narrative as “he”, however my character could be of any gender. I coloured the dragon as purple to appear gender-neutral to create a diverse character any child can relate to and enjoy. This allows my narrative to appeal to all races, genders and sexualities and does not cause offence.

Historically, dragons are one of the oldest mythical creatures to have been invented, and their stories date back to ancient Asian and European mythology. They are mentioned amongst all cultural mythology in one way or another, making my dragon character easily recognisable worldwide. This is a strong marketing technique as, combined with the lack of text, this comic can be produced around the world and appreciated by all cultures.

Production Processes

I mentioned in Task 1 why I hand-illustrated my comic. This was due to my poor PhotoShop competency, however upon reflection, I am content with my final product.

My comic appears amature, however I like this style of art and appreciate its aesthetic qualities.

I found this method to be more time-effective also and a much more enjoyable process, however if this comic was to be mass-produces, the digital method I experimented with would be more appropriate.

Leave a Reply

