Presentation – Script and PowerPoint

Slide 1 – Questionnaires

The product I create my advertisement for was “Story of Lily” – A perfume targeted towards young women. However,  the product was later re-branded as a body mist to appeal more successfully towards my target market of girls ages 14-19.
The decision was made after receiving the results of my primary research. I conducted questionnaires and asked the following:

  • What types of adverts appeal to you most? (Tick all that apply) 

    We asked this to gain an overall insight into what adverts are popular currently as we were new to this perspective of TV advertising.

The majority of the answers liked adverts that were humorous or had a storyline (narrative).

  • What is your favourite advert and why? 

    We asked this to narrow down the above answers and get direct examples of popular TV advertisements.

The most popular answer was the Doritos advert for being funny.

  • What is your least favourite advert and why? 

    We asked this to gain examples of unpopular adverts so we knew what features to steer away from when creating our own advert.

The most popular answer was GoDaddy Loans for being unprofessional and immature.

  • What three words do you associate with Christmas adverts? 

    We asked this to create a form of a word mood board so we could use words and their connotations to inspire our advert and conjure ideas.

Answers included: happy, fantasy, festive, exciting, cute, cheerful, funny, family, food, John Lewis, Christmas trees and Santa

  • Which of the following words do you associate with a perfume advert? 

    Similarly to the above question, we wanted words that not only were associated with Christmas, but more specific words to the actual product.

Answers included: Elegance (said 5 times), lust, love, French, fashion.

  • What is your age? 

    We asked this to determine what particular ages liked so we could create an advert tailored closely to our primary and secondary target audiences.

Answers were from 16 and 17 year olds. This was a positive response as I was able to make sure my advert would appeal to this age group.

The most useful information for me that was taken from this survey were the words that were given that associated with Christmas and perfume. I created a semantic field of elegance and love throughout the advert. I found the other answers somewhat unuseful and next time I would tailor the questions to give answers specifically about perfume or Christmas, as I found the “favourite” adverts to be difficult to gain inspiration from.

The decision to re-brand my product as a body mist, rather than a perfume, was made after the questionnaires and peer feedback. I decided that the term “mist” gave the product a less-mature feel and would encourage parents to purchase it, as they may be happier with their children wearing it opposed to a perfume which can feel “too old”.

 

 

Slide 3 – Inspiration

I took inspirations from existing perfume advertisements such as Nina Ricci’s “Sunday Girl/L’Elixir” advertisement and Nina Ricci’s “L’Eau” perfume advertisement.

 

Play adverts

Both of these adverts hold similar themes and narratives and they also share a semantic field of magic and stereotypical femininity.

 

Slide 4 – Inspiration (Cont.)

Here are some images that demonstrate the correlation between my advertisement and my inspirations.

 

Slide 5 – Going Against the Grain – Costume and Colour

As my advert is aimed towards a younger audience than Nina Ricci’s, I decided to make decisions that go against the grain of typical TV advertisements, particularly for perfume. Some girls of a younger generation these days do present themselves as less feminine, so the actress’ costume was a black skater dress that isn’t typically feminine. She also wore minimal make-up and purple nail varnish which has connotations of mystery and magic.

 

Slide 6 – Going Against the Grain (Cont.)

The music used in the advertisement was an instrumental version of Once Upon A December from the animated film Anastasia. Anastasia is a princess that begins her teenage years finding herself and building courage as she goes on her adventures. I felt this was an appropriate moral and message to carry through my advert for my target audience.

Moreover, perfume adverts also generally tend to be fairly loose in relation to the product and their messages can be unclear (as I found with Nina Ricci’s advert) They don’t offer a direct solution to a problem, as theorised by Mazlow’s hierarchy of needs.

 

Slide 7 – Critique and Peer Feedback

Feedback from my peers on the finished product was very useful. The main comment was that my advert was slightly too long for television, and considering the age of my primary target audience, I would shorten the length of my advertisement next time as young people may lost interest too quickly and not see the product that is featured at the end of the advert.
My teacher felt that there were too many shots of the product, therefore I removed a photo of the product that I originally had at the end of the advert and overlayed the same text over the final hand-held filmed shot of the product at the end instead.

My peers praised my editing and “love[d] the transition from shot to shot”, which I also feel is a strong element in the finished product.

Powerpoint

Tarrin PowerPoint

 

Leave a Reply

